I am a Ghost (Eric Cadesky)

I am
A ghost
Moving counter-clockwise
To the waking world.

I am
Standing interminably at the bus stop
Unaware that today is Saturday –
The schedule has changed and the bus has passed.

I am
Floating again into the noisy, haunted vessel
Greeting the other ghosts.

I am
Writing yesterday’s date on my consult sheet.

I am
Reviewing lab results
Forgetting that I saw them 20 minutes ago.

I am
Yawning.

I am
Writing my notes more and more unintelligibly
(and sometimes in the wrong chart).

I am
Searching for a patient before discharge
Knocking on the door to the waiting room
Not remembering that

I am
The one on the unlocked side.

I am
Sleeping while standing in the cafeteria line at 07h00,
A ghost
Moving counter-clockwise
To the waking world.

I am
Adjusting still
To the overnight shift in the emergency room.

What do you think?

