WHEN I AM IN DOUBT; a poem for surgeons (Glenn Colquhoun)

When I am in doubt I talk to surgeons.
I know that they will know what to do.
They seem so sure.
Once I talked to a surgeon.
He said that when he is in doubt
He talks to priests.
Priests will know what to do.
Priests seem so sure.
Once I talked to a priest.
He said that when he is in doubt
He talks to God.
God will know what to do.
God seems so sure.
Once I talked to God.
He said that when he is in doubt
he thinks of me.
He says I will know what to do.
I seem so sure.

1. Do you ever feel sure of yourself and the decisions you make? Regardless of your feelings, do you think other people view you as being sure of yourself?
2. How important is it to appear sure of yourself? When and to whom is it appropriate, if ever? What are the benefits and consequences of doing so?
3. Who do you consult with difficult issues or when you are unsure? How do you approach them with your questions? How is it different if you are intimidated by the person you are asking?
4. What if you were expert being consulted, what would you have to do to be confident in your decision?

What do you think?

